Bayern Munich Fume Over Blown Offside Call

Bayern Munich Fume Over Blown Offside Call
Bayern Munich Fume Over Blown Offside Call

Bayern Munich’s Matthijs de Ligt labelled the late offside decision in their UEFA Champions League semifinal loss to Real Madrid as a “disgrace,” while manager Thomas Tuchel accused the officials of “betrayal.” De Ligt thought he’d levelled the tie in stoppage time when he fired home from close range, only for referee Szymon Marciniak to blow his whistle for offside, ending Bayern’s hopes with a 2-1 defeat at the Bernabeu. Madrid advanced to the final on a 4-3 aggregate victory.

Tuchel didn’t hold back in his criticism of the refereeing team, revealing that the linesman had apologised to him afterwards. He expressed frustration that the officials blew the whistle too early instead of letting the play unfold naturally.

“It was a disastrous decision from the linesman and the referee. It feels almost like a betrayal in the end because of that decision. It was a huge fight, we left everything on the pitch. We were almost there. Now we have to say congratulations to Real Madrid.

“The linesman said sorry … The referee does not have to flag – he sees that we win the second ball, he sees that we get a shot away. To whistle is a very, very bad decision. It’s against the rules, and it’s a bad decision from both of them. It’s a disaster, tough to swallow, but it is the way it is,” Tuchel said.

De Ligt, too, was incensed, pointing to an earlier incident involving Real Madrid striker Joselu, whose goal was initially flagged for offside but later awarded after a VAR review. “I think we all know the rules. If the offside call is not clear, you have to play on! This is the rule! I find it a little bit of a disgrace. The goal of Joselu was also almost offside and they keep on playing, so why not with us?” he exclaimed, noting the inconsistency in officiating.

Madrid coach Carlo Ancelotti was unsympathetic to Bayern’s complaints, defending the referee’s decision and insisting that his players had stopped after the whistle. “The move is quite clear, the linesman raised his flag, the referee blew his whistle and we stopped. If they complain about that, we can complain about Nacho’s disallowed goal, because Kimmich dived, the two of them were pushing each other,” Ancelotti said.

Madrid now prepares to face Borussia Dortmund in the final on June 1 at Wembley Stadium, seeking a record-extending 15th Champions League title.

Image courtesy Deposit Photos.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment





More in News

Manchester United’s Season Ticket Hike Sparks Outrage Amid £2bn Stadium Plans

Manchester United have stirred the pot at Old Trafford, announcing ...

Newcastle’s 70-Year Wait Ends In Wembley Glory Over Liverpool

Newcastle United etched their name into the annals of Tyneside ...

Rashford Roars To Three Lions Returns As Tuchel Names First England Squad

Marcus Rashford’s resurgence at Aston Villa has earned him a ...

Paul Pogba Ban Ends, French Star Will Wait To Find New Club

Paul Pogba’s 18-month football ban officially lifted on Tuesday, 11 ...

Manchester United Confirms New Stadium Plan

Manchester United has thrown its support behind the Government’s growth ...

Trending on Futbol Chronicle

Should You Look at the Soccer Ball When Shooting

Should You Look at the Soccer Ball When Shooting?

In analyzing the skill of shooting in soccer, one question ...
Why Do They Call It A Clean Sheet In Soccer

Why Do They Call It A Clean Sheet In Soccer?

In soccer, the term 'clean sheet' is used to describe ...
What does FC mean in soccer

What does FC mean in soccer

You might be wondering what does FC mean in soccer? ...
What Is A Striker In Soccer

What Is A Striker In Soccer?

What is a striker in soccer? A striker in soccer ...
What Size Soccer Ball For 5 Year Old

What Size Soccer Ball For 5 Year Old: Selecting The Perfect Fit

Selecting the appropriate soccer ball for a 5-year-old is an ...